Editorial Note: Forbes Advisor may earn a commission on sales made from partner links on this page, but this does not affect the opinions or ratings of our editors.
If you’re looking for inexpensive Pennsylvania tenant insurance, consider requesting quotes from Penn National, Chubb, and Erie. Military personnel, veterans and their immediate family members should consult USAA.
In our analysis, these companies offered the cheapest tenant insurance in Pennsylvania among the companies we analyzed. But there are plenty of other companies offering tenant insurance for less than $ 200 a year for $ 20,000 in property coverage, so it’s a good idea to compare quotes from multiple insurance companies to be sure you’re getting the best one. offer.
Following: Better tenant insurance
What does tenant insurance cover?
If your property is stolen or damaged by an event listed in your policy, you can file a home insurance claim and be reimbursed up to the limits of your policy. Renters insurance also protects you against injury and damage you accidentally cause to others. Here’s how the types of home insurance coverage work together to protect you and what you own:
- Personal property insurance covers your personal effects and possessions such as furniture, electronics, clothing and jewelry and even pots and pans.
- Liability insurance pays for injuries and property damage you accidentally cause to others. For example, if a visitor slips on wet ground in your apartment, or if a poorly thrown baseball breaks a neighbor’s window, your liability insurance may cover the costs. If you are sued, liability insurance may cover judgments or settlements and your legal defense.
- Supplementary Living Expense Coverage (ALE) pays additional costs such as hotel bills and restaurant meals when you are temporarily living elsewhere while the damage to your rental is being repaired.
Are you looking for additional liability protection? Consider purchasing an umbrella insurance policy. An umbrella insurance policy provides liability protection beyond the limits of a tenant insurance policy and an auto insurance policy. Umbrella insurance would help protect your assets if you are sued in a major lawsuit.
When can you be deported to Pennsylvania?
A landlord can kick you out of an apartment in Pennsylvania if you:
- Do not pay rent
- Do not move at the end of the lease
- Violate the terms of the rental agreement
Here are some examples of lease violations that could lead to eviction actions by a landlord:
- Late payment of rent
- Cause damage to the apartment beyond normal wear and tear
- Operating a business or allowing unauthorized persons to live in the apartment
- Keep a pet, which is not a service animal, when pets are not allowed in the lease
- Noise violations that disturb other tenants
- Break the law by engaging in criminal acts
- Lack of lawn maintenance if it’s part of your lease
- Inappropriate garbage disposal, including garbage storage
- Not respecting the rules of the lease
The eviction process begins with the landlord giving the tenant a notice. This notice can be posted on the tenant’s door or given to an adult in the rental unit. But the notice cannot be sent by post.
The time that a landlord can give you to leave your apartment must be indicated in your lease. Here is the notice a landlord must give if they are evicting you from an apartment for various reasons.
10 days notice for:
- Do not pay rent
- Illegal drug-related activities
15 days notice for:
- Termination or expiration of the monthly lease
- Termination or expiration of a lease of one year or less
30 days notice for:
- Termination or expiration of a lease of more than one year
The eviction notice must include the reason for the notice and the date the landlord wants you to vacate the apartment. If you do not leave the apartment on the date indicated in the eviction notice, the landlord must go to court to lodge a complaint. A court hearing will be scheduled seven to 15 days after the complaint is filed. You will receive a copy of the complaint by first class mail and a copy of the complaint will also be served by a sheriff.
The court hearing gives you the opportunity to present your defense. Once the hearing is over, the judge will render a decision that day or within three days. If the judge sides with your landlord, you will have to leave your apartment before the eviction date.
Pennsylvania Security Deposit Rules
All or part of your apartment’s security deposit may be kept by your landlord at the end of the lease if you:
- Damage your apartment
- Don’t clean your apartment
- Do not pay your last month’s rent or any month’s rent
- Do not give proper notice that you are leaving the apartment
In Pennsylvania, during the first year of a lease, a security deposit cannot be more than two months’ rent. If a landlord asks for last month’s rent, that amount should be included in the security deposit, not added to it. In the second year, the security deposit for an apartment in Pennsylvania cannot be more than one month’s rent.
If the apartment’s rent increases, the landlord can increase the security deposit to equal one month’s rent for the first five years of the lease. After five years, a landlord is not able to increase the security deposit even if the rent increases.
If a security deposit greater than $ 100 is collected by the owner, the money must be placed in a separate bank account and the owner must inform you of the name and address of the bank and the amount of the deposit.
After the second year, interest earned on the money must be paid to you, less the 1% administrative fee paid to the owner. Interest is paid to you each year on the month and day your lease first takes effect.
Within 30 days of the end of the lease, your landlord must give you a written notice of damage to your apartment or a check for the full amount of the security deposit.
If your landlord doesn’t do any of these things within 30 days of the end of the lease, your landlord waives the right to withhold part of the security deposit and waives the right to sue for damage to your apartment. On the 31st day, you can sue the owner for double the amount of the security deposit.
Pennsylvania Rent Increase Rules
In Pennsylvania, there are no rent control laws. Landlords can increase the rents as much as they want. But any change in rent must be made according to your lease.
Your landlord cannot increase the rent:
- In the middle of the lease, unless you agree to the rent increase
- In retaliation against you exercising a legal right
- Because you have filed a discrimination complaint
- Because you contacted the application of the code
- Because you have filed a complaint about discrimination in housing
When can a landlord enter your apartment?
In Pennsylvania, a landlord is generally allowed to enter an apartment at reasonable times for repairs, inspections, or to show the apartment to potential tenants, provided the landlord gives you prior notice.
In an emergency, the owner has the right to enter an apartment immediately without notice.
Find the best tenant insurance of 2021